Surrender – more than a word

“All to Jesus I surrender, all to him I freely give, I will ever love and trust him, in his presence daily live”

Powerful words. But are they more than words of a hymn sung at church?
What does it mean when we surrender our all to Jesus?

Interestingly its a song thats not sung as often these days. We tend to sing more ‘nice, loving’ songs that are designed to not offend, or not put off a person who may be seeking to know more about the christian life.

Its a shame. The hymn writers often wrote of doctrine, and of things they were going through. They are powerful words – and many a person has answered a ‘call’ to discipleship through some of those songs.

Back to the discussion – surrender. Ouch.

Is it the same as trust? I can trust him with daily decisions, so therefore I surrender my day to him. Somehow I think it means more than that.
To identify what he is asking of us. Not what we think he is asking.

Some people struggle with their finances and the very idea of surrendering or trusting them to God is a toughie.
Others struggle with relationships and think that if they fully trust God with them then he will make them stay ‘single’.

But what if we really trusted God in everything?
Allowing him to make the decisions, to lead us in the right path for our lives?

That is what I am working on. Trusting and surrendering to his decisions for me. I find it so easy to suggest the way God should do it … then wonder why he has gone quiet. I think I still have a long way to go.

Its all about who is in the driver’s seat!

This entry was posted in Christian stuff, Decisions, Intersections - crossroads, Passion, postaday 2012, surrender and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surrender – more than a word

  1. Deanna says:

    Hey Valerie,
    Just wanted to say thanks for hitting my blog and commenting. You have no idea how much it means to me to know that anything I might write would resonate with another. Especially another who lives in such a cool place:). He continues to do a work in my life that I can’t help but write about. I’m so glad you come along for the ride:).I love your blog too by the way. Always thought provoking with some wonderful photos.

Leave a Reply

