Seven days off … such a treat.

Image

For such a varied week, I filled the boot of my car with everything that I thought I may require. A tramp through mountains and beside the calm streams, then a hike along still snow topped mountains. That was day one and two.

Then it was time to get back to Oamaru midweek in time to celebrate with family my Mum’s 80th birthday and another opportunity for the three sisters to be together. Our family live away from each other, and my three brothers were unable to be down from the North Island this time.

My week began in the Ahuriri area – up the Waitaki Valley and a tramp into Canyon Creek. What stunning views from all vantage angles. Around each corner and over every rise were yet more photo opportunities.

Later in the week (following the birthday event) it was off to Central Otago where I walked up the Routeburn Track to the falls where I met with friends for a cuppa break, before heading down again.

Then across to Kinloch, and the following day saw me traversing some of the Greenstone track. On the way I saw a sign pointing me to a round trip via Lake Rere. Wow! What a great choice that was. I still tramped around five hours in total – but the variation in scenery and terrain was amazing. This one took me back along the edge of Lake Wakatipu and Elfin Bay – over farmland and back to the car park area.

Then to visit little Wynter Rose (and my son Barry, and Cassandra). Now almost six weeks old.

Wynter Rose

This entry was posted in Family, Grandchildren, Intersections - crossroads, Passion, postaday 2011, Random thoughts - post a day, Tramping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

