Shape up … summer’s on the way

So summer is going to arrive – sometime after the changeable weather of spring.
We now have a lot of adverts on TV telling us we must have the latest exercise equipment to trim our ‘winter bodies’. While the svelte ladies (usually) show us how to get the best shape in just a few weeks, we look down at ourselves and realise that the winter coating hasn’t budged much at all.
It made me realise that, yes, I have begun to do something about the winter flab, and no, it hasn’t budged in the three weeks I have been working on it.

However I do know that time is on my side … the weather is not quite optimal (we had snow the other day), and I am able to get away with slightly baggy clothes still.

Speaking about home gym equipment, from experience the best equipment I would suggest is a good pair of running or jogging shoes … they don’t cost much, you can just head out the door when you’re ready and don’t have to drive to a gym. For the non-runners, they are still great as they have the support required for your feet.

A local swimming pool is great, but they do cost to use, and if you don’t live close, you still have to get the car out of the garage.
The other thing I owned but sold a few years ago, and now regret selling is a small re-bounder. I used it a lot on the rainy days, but it went west in one of our many shifts. I wish I had never sold it.
Otherwise a skipping rope is just the ticket.

Open the back door … taste the fresh air … and enjoy listening to the early morning chorus the birds sing early in the morning.

This entry was posted in Decisions, Dunedin, Intersections - crossroads, postaday 2011, Random thoughts - post a day, Tramping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shape up … summer’s on the way

  1. Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make severely posts I would state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this actual publish extraordinary. Excellent task!
    My website is about Healthy Cholesterol Foods.

Leave a Reply

