The fear of man … (or people in general)

Recently I have been grappling with an issue which has been annoying me immensely.
It’s this issue of being bullied in the workplace … not a beat up, but a snide comment here or there, words of criticism, words of condemnation. These were gradually making inroads on the joy I usually show.
I decided to look into it a bit as being christian, I knew there was probably a spiritual root to the problem. For where there is ‘fruit’ there is generally a ‘root’ – just like a tree.
I recognised that I had allowed the ‘fear of man’ to take root in my mind, and over weeks it had lodged deeper.
Thankfully, God showed me the answer before it grew other tendrills (like bitterness, hate, grudge-holding, etc.)
Here’s what the fear of man looks like on someone:
Can’t say no without feeling guilty
Afraid of confrontation
Intimidated easily by others
Tends to over work and over commit

Proverbs 29:25 says, “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the LORD is kept safe.”

The irony here is that people who struggle with this issue feel “safer” by making everyone happy at all costs. In reality, those who trust in the Lord are the ones who are kept safe.

Man will let you down every time. Putting your trust there ends up being a snare, a trap. It keeps you from moving forward in the calling God has placed on your life. Why? Because people’s opinions and approval of you matter too much. We need others; they just can’t be our approval. God must be.
Hebrews 13:6 says, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

This entry was posted in Christian stuff, postaday 2011 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

